Many things crammed into a small space…

A Kickstarter campaign just went live today for a box set reissue of the first three recordings by one of my favorite ’90s noise rock bands Craw. Journalist Hank Shteamer (who I’ve known since those ’90s noise rock days) has planned an ambitious reissue for this Cleveland band’s long out-of-print material: a 6-album box set, limited to a release of 100, with some very nice incentives for serious fans of the band. Doing something like this is so expensive, so if you were ever a fan of this band, I urge you to go help out. There’s a nice overview of the band for those who aren’t familiar with all the excellent, darkly noisy, totally unique music that they produced.

Also, the latest batch of flash fiction from The Five Hundred is now up. This is a writer’s group I’m in, where we get a prompt each month that we respond to in 400-600 word submissions. This month’s prompt was “It slipped my mind.” My response is Recentering. Once again, my favorite stories were from my friends Matt Wilson (the beautiful White Walls) and Stephen McClurg (the excellent Like The Ones I Used To Know).

In celebration of my release of Joyless Noise, the first volume in a series of noise releases, competitively-priced at $1 . . . ALL the music on my Bandcamp site is now available for download for the same low price. I would appreciate your support, as I work toward two new releases looming on the horizon. I’ve finished up a new drone release called Endless Tunnels, due out on Montreal’s GBS Records (who also released I Wonder What Ever Became Of Me and Without Hope) later this spring. And I’m well on my way with work on Joyless Noise, Volume 2.

This weekend, my trio No is heading to Sarcophagus Studios in Auburn, AL to record three new songs with Jamie Uertz, who we worked with on our last release Scum Commodities. And Baghouse, the improv trio that I play guitar with from Athens, GA, will be playing at this year’s Secret Stages Festival in Birmingham, AL on Saturday, Aug. 2. Details on all of this are soon to follow!

Current listening:

Atriarch – Ritual Of Passing

Beastmilk – Climax

Djam Karet – Regenerator 3017

In Solitude – Sister

Inquisition – Ominous Doctrines Of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm

Inquisition – Obscure Verses For The Multiverse

3 comments

  1. Tim

    Three new No songs, Yesss!, I mean Nooo!, I mean Yesss! (to be clear I’m looking forward to hearing this when it is released)

    • Jeff McLeod

      I do still have a few things around (a few cassettes, 7″s and CDs). Email me offsite @ subversiveworkshop (at) gmail (dot) com
      and I’ll send you a list and details on who to contact for Knucklefish stuff as well!

Leave a comment