Final Reports From The Void

And they are just sounds. Not just any old sounds–but just sounds, really, after all. Different arrangements of synthesis presented in very raw form. These are the final reports from me, soundwise, for the year. I plan to do more Joyless noise and related volumes next year. I also plan on finishing up a long-dormant noisework called Randy & Gary recorded with my friend Jim Tankersley many years ago. But back to the recently-finished Now . . . now.

The first of the last is the third in a series of Joylessly Noisy musicks. Joyless Noise, Vol. 3 is the most joyless of the bunch, I believe. It’s also the least noisy, but that doesn’t mean that it’s any less unfriendly.

Austin Gaines really captured the essence of the volume with his image this time around. As on the other two, it is spot-on.

Downloads of Joyless Noise, Vol. 3, of course, are free or pay-what-you-want.

 

The second of the last is a split cassette release with Montreal’s Drub on Cuchabata Records. Two sides of intense drone. My track takes up side B (the empty black side). It’s a 28-minute grind down into an emptiness called “Thoss.” The tapes are available from the Drub site and through the player below. They’re a hand-numbered edition of 50, and include a digital download of the recording. You can order from the above folks, or contact me directly in the U.S. I should have my copies later in the month. Downloads, once again, are free or pay-what-you-want.


I’m also in the process of doing a better job of updating my personal website, as well as trimming it down to something very minimal. Feel free to visit there any old time, and write to belittle me as I fail to update it again for 3 or 4 months.

I’ve got a new short story up on The Five Hundred writing group site. It’s called Normal Horrible. I’ll go on and tell you that there’s a crummy oversight in proofreading on my part that completely ruins the story. Feel free to write me and make me feel shitty about that also.

That’s it. Mostly just some music to help you through the holidays.

Leave a Reply

