The Flash is late…

500 ImageI failed to post about last month’s flash fiction stories on The Five Hundred. I’ve mentioned it before . . . but if you enjoy writing, and you enjoy a challenge, then this writing group is a great place to scratch those itches. On the first of each month, writers receive a prompt from the curator, and then respond by the 16th with a 400-600 word piece. Great fun, and I can certainly feel my writing getting better. Most everyone involved in the group comments on each month’s pieces, and many offer excellent constructive criticism.

Last month, the prompt was “Let a little light in.” I responded with Make It Uglier.

This month, the prompt was “If you catch my drift.” I responded with Encrypted For 7C, which I feel (for the first time, honestly) is one of my more successful submissions to the group. Or, at least, I feel better about the writing than I have for many of the other things I’ve done on there.

And, one final update . . . I got together in Birmingham with some lovely lads yesterday to make a little new noise related to what’s below (more info soon!)…

2 comments

Leave a Reply

