New flash fiction & noise horizons…

500 ImageThe February submissions for The Five Hundred, a flash fiction writing group that I participate in, have just been posted. This month’s prompt was “Tear it down and try again.” My story is Last Days In The World Of Legs. We also received a special 100-word prompt this month of “A thousand days gone.” My submission for that one is Body/Steam. The group is joined this month by two of my friends and fellow bloggers Stephen McClurg and Matt Wilson. Steven’s In The Cup Of The Beholder and Ghazal For The Missing, and Matt’s Off Air Dreams are the best of the entire batch, in my opinion.

 

 

Joyless Noise Cover - Vol 1

I’m also just about ready to release the first in a series of noise recordings call Joyless Noise. The series artwork over on the left was created by Austin Gaines. This first volume was created mostly with analog synthesizers, and will feature a collaborative track with Dylan Hawes-Glynn from The Most Amazing Century Of Science. Each release in the series will be available on Bandcamp for $1. More details as the release approaches.

 

 

Also, Beastmilk’s Climax is great! 

In Solitude’s Sister is amazing, too… 

As is Oranssi Pazuzu’s Valonielu… 

6 comments

  1. Paul Nitsche

    Thanks, Jeff. Good stuff. Do the kids still call this cyber punk? I don’t know if I have read anything you have written before and was surprised to read sci fi. But good and interesting in the short space.

    Killmen-

    I think the whole project is on hold or cancelled. From what I understand the members couldn’t agree on what to do and even started arguing. Too bad. Maybe Nick can tell you more. Mark Fischer liked my illustration so it still may see the light of day in the form of a bonus for a reissue of Face of Collapse.

    Good to talk the other night.

    Paul

    Date: Thu, 20 Feb 2014 15:57:00 +0000 To: paulnitsche@hotmail.com

    • Jeff McLeod

      Thanks for reading that, Paul!

      That is too bad about the whole DK thing. Looking forward to getting the vinyl reissue of that. In case I miss it, please let me know when that happens!

  2. Stephen McClurg

    Wow, Jeff. Thanks!

    And I haven’t even started reading over there yet.

    I can’t keep up with your recordings! And thanks for sending me to a lot of audio brutality. I’m so far out of touch in the realm of music…

  3. Paul Nitsche

    Hey Jeff,

    I released my website last night.

    http://www.paulnitsche.com

    It’s not mobile friendly yet, and I want to add a Illustration and Design section, as well as process photos for all the works, but for the most part it is done. Check out the blogs too, I think the studio blog will be fun for people.

    I am looking to retool the mailing list feature too.

    Talk to you soon,

    P.

    Date: Thu, 20 Feb 2014 15:57:00 +0000 To: paulnitsche@hotmail.com

Leave a comment