Migration Of The Device

Migration CoverEven though I’m nearly done with a full-length recording that I hope to make available by November/December, I’ve got a new 4-song release now available that I finished much earlier this year. I began work on these songs in late 2012, and their ultimate destination was to be on a vinyl split with an awesome artist on an equally awesome label. But, as these things go, for a variety of reasons well beyond my control, it seems that this isn’t going to happen. At least not in time for me to get this music out there before I begin finishing up my full-length. I won’t bore you with any of the details any further, but I’m moving forward and releasing this one on Bandcamp today . . . before it gets lost in the glut of other musical output.

It’s called Migration Of The Device, and it’s in line with the electronic-oriented style of things that I’ve been doing for the past few years on other solo releases. This one, however, is quite different than the last couple (2011’s Under Dim Self and 2012’s Scalps Of Gods) in the respect that I employed some freshly-outside devices for inspiration towards the texture, mood and lyrical content (all of which is on the release site, if you want to see) of the 4 pieces. Oddball personal tarot spreads and readings from a variety of occult texts were sources of great inspiration for this collection, and I really think they shine darkly and smartly through the sonics that I was able to conjure.

In short, I’m completely happy with it! It’s a quick (20+ minutes), noisy jaunt through a few months of my life. I’m so glad to finally get it out into the cold light of day . . . and I’m equally elated to be able to move on to another recording well on it’s way to being finished. This is part of musical closure for me . . . these four songs being precursors to something even bigger & better that is nearly completed. Both of these writing and recording sessions have allowed me to move my music and my ideas into a new area that I’m excited about. Details on all this stuff are coming very soon.

You can listen to and download Migration Of The Device on my Bandcamp site, as well as all the other releases. Downloads of this new one come with a packet of drawings and photos from the recording session. As always, I truly appreciate your support and I hope you enjoy what I’ve made. More is definitely on the way…

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Moving on towards noise… | The Subversive Workshop

Leave a Reply

