Brain farts have feelings, too!

BAghouse HOTDRight before my set with Baghouse a couple of weekends ago, I accidentally plugged my guitar into the LOW input on my amp. What this meant was that, for the rest of the evening, I would be cursed with trying to sort out what was causing my sound to appear (to my ears) anemic–AND to play and adapt the best I could to the improvisation. In short, a brain fart. Classic. Undeniably stupid. Confounding, even . . . at the time. On one hand, I feel as if I NEVER do that sort of thing. On the other . . . I always seem to.

Luckily, everything else worked that night. I recently listened back to a recording of the evening and, despite feeling that my levels on loops fluctuated as I attempted to adjust in the chaos of the moment, it’s pretty excellent, nicely tense and has lots of fantastic playing & dynamics. Things were solid. Whew. Give it a go here, if you wanna get an earful of the proceedings at The World Famous in Athens, GA that  evening.

It’s happening again this Saturday night at Head On The Door in Montgomery, AL. We’re going to do a couple of sets, making music, conjuring textures, tones and irregularities, seeing where the sound takes us. This is a call to all the weirdos and wanderers looking and listening for something freakishly pure. Music pulled from the air, shaped and reshaped, then shoved into your earholes. It feels like magic. Automatic writing. Baghouse. Come hear something being tapped into.

Wear a gasmask in case of brain farts.

Current listening:

Caspar Brotzmann – Nohome

Disappears – Era

Gorguts – Colored Sands

The Howling Wind – Vortex

True Widow – Circumambulation

2 comments

  1. Tim

    Jeff, my 11yo daughter plays bass in school. She could never remember if her Fender P-bass plugged into the “Active” or “Passive” jack on her amp. To help her remember, she put a big piece of paper with “PASSIVE” written on it in big letters in her case. When she takes out the bass, “PASSIVE” jumps out from the paper. Problem solved! I recommended that she tape over the active input, but she thought this would not look cool. (Bass players gotta stay cool after all)

Leave a Reply

