Here’s What I’m Wearing To The Record Swap…

record swapSo there’s a record swap this Saturday here in Montgomery, AL put on by Rad! Vinyl & Organic Hippie. I wanted to write about it primarily because I think it’s a great thing . . . and secondly because there are some items that I would really like to get my hands on.

What do you think the chances of me running across a nice vinyl copy (containing all the fixings) of Rudimentary Peni’s Death Church are? If you’re the one weirdo here in this city with that . . . . increase my odds . . . bring me one!

Death Church or not, I’m hoping that there’ll be all kinds of oddities coming out of the rotten woodwork of this town. I’m looking for old prog (early Genesis, Yes, King Crimson, Marillion, U.K., Univers Zero), freaky stuff (The Residents, Renaldo & The Loaf, Henry Cow, Art Bears) & noise (from Throbbing Gristle to Wolf Eyes). If you’ve got it, bring it!

I’ll be bringing a small stack of wide-ranging stuff. Boston Pops to Bastro. AC/DC to Zeni Geva. The Golden Age Of Television to Alice Cooper. Color vinyl and a long-lost wood-boxed album from June of ’44. Some regional noise & otherwise. Not a huge mountain of things, but definitely a little something serving all flavors and tastes. I’ve even got an old Zappa Beat The Boots 2 box set, complete with the fancy book, pin and beret. It’s the multi-CD version, but I’m gonna bring it along because I know there’s some freak out there who will want it.

I think, more than anything, I’m just excited to be in one place with so much vinyl and so much different music to look through. You know it’s gonna be fun, so come on out Saturday, Aug. 10 from 1pm to 5pm to Organic Hippie. If you need more info on the swap, get you some here.

And bring your Rudimentary Peni.

Leave a Reply

